All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
We optimized sites for over a decade. “Price” is almost always the #1 objection. But it’s not really the price… It’s the perceived value that’s lacking. For example: A business is sells an electric toothbrush for $100. Ouch. That’s...
All, Business strategy, Productivity
Do you ever feel tired *and* wired? Where you’re completely exhausted but still can’t turn your brain off? This is usually because: You don’t know what to do next; or You lack the energy to do it. Which often leads to increased cortisol, insomnia, and burnout. So…...
All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
There is not just one ‘“risk”; there are many types of risk, and you need to balance each of them. Every business strategy is risky: Your ad costs could go up. Your SEO rankings might drop. LinkedIn might drop your followers. Therefore, you cannot avoid risk; you can...
All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
Approach every interaction with a genuine desire to connect and help others. Don’t do this: DM a pitch about your product/service OR ask a series of questions (and subsequently waste their time). 🙄 Do this: Study their profile, engage with their comments, subscribe to...
All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
If you don’t know your customer lifetime value, you’re in trouble. Lifetime value is the average amount a customer spends over the course of their relationship with your business. LTV = AOV x gross margin (%) x customer lifespan (in months or years) Here are two...
All, Business strategy, Personal stories
My father fell and broke his neck. As part of his recovery, he needed a railing installed to help him with the stairs. So I reached out to several contractors for help. Now, you’d think a broken neck would get some sympathy. Nope. Most of them didn’t...
All, Business strategy, Interview series
Begin with the end in mind. That’s the advice many entrepreneurs fail to follow. But not Edin Basic. He founded Firezza, a pizza chain in the UK, with a clear exit strategy. And it paid off: Edin sold his company to a market leader in 2016 and became a...
All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
AOV represents the average value of an order. It reflects the average amount spent by a customer during their initial purchase. AOV = # of customers / total revenue For example, if you have 100 sales and the total revenue is $1,000, your AOV is $10. Note: AOV only...
All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
There are two ways to get more customers. Increase your traffic. You can do this in many ways: through SEO, paid ads, social media, or affiliates. Increase your conversion rate of visitors to buyers. Both work well. If you’re just starting out, focus on increasing...
All, Business strategy, Tip of the day
When faced with a daunting task, ask: “What’s the simplest thing that could possibly work?” For example, you’re launching a new product. Before diving into complex marketing strategies and advertising campaigns, ask yourself:...